Removing User Accounts

This topic describes how to disable and delete users and contains the following sub-topics:

 

Aptify recommends that you disable users rather than delete them. When you disable a user, the account is no longer active, but the historical information related to that account remains valid within the system. When deleting a user, an organization also needs to delete all records that are linked to that user (alternatively, an organization could relink these records to another user, such as a test user account). In either case, the record history associated with the user may no longer be valid or easy to identify.

 

Disabling User Accounts

In general, when an employee leaves your organization, you should disable the user account and terminate the user's license assignment to prevent the employee from accessing Aptify using the client application. This approach retains the User's record and the links to that record within the system for record-keeping and review purposes.

Disabling a user account within Aptify also changes the Status of the user's SQL Server Login to Deny, which prevents a connection to the database engine. Therefore, if a user is disabled within Aptify, then that user will also lose the ability to connect to any other database applications hosted on the same SQL Server instance as Aptify.

 

Follow these steps to disable a user account to prevent the user from accessing Aptify using either the client application or another database tool, such as Microsoft SQL Query Analyzer:

  1. Log into Aptify using a user account that has system administrator privileges.

    The Aptify User Administration wizard is not supported in the Aptify web interface.

  2. Expand the Users Administration application in the Navigation Bar, if necessary.
  3. Open or create a view of the Users service.
  4. Double-click the Users record you want to edit to open the User Administration wizard.
  5. Proceed to Step 5 of the wizard, if necessary.
  6. Remove the check mark from the Permit column for your Aptify database.
    • This removes the user's permissions to the database and effectively disables the user at the database level.
    • Note that a user still exists as a SQL server login and retains a Public SQL role for the APTIFY database.
  7. Clear the Active User check box.
    • This prevents the user from accessing Aptify using the client application.  
      Disabling a User
  8. Click Next to continue and proceed to Step 8 of the wizard.
  9. Remove the user from all of the Aptify Groups (by removing the check marks in the include column).
  10. Clear the Primary Group link box.  
    Remove User from Groups 
  11. Click Next to continue and complete the wizard without making an additional change.
  12. Open the User License Assignment record for the disabled user.
    • The User License Assignment service is located in the Aptify Framework Administration application by default. 
  13. Confirm that an End Date has been populated automatically (with the current date and time). This removes the user's association with the license key and allows it to be assigned to another user.
  14. Close the User License Assignment record.

Reverse the above steps if you want to reactivate an inactive user. Note that when reactivating a user, select the EndUser SQL role for the APTIFY database from the drop-down menu (as shown in figure below).


Reactivating Database Access


Deleting User Accounts

Under some circumstances, you may want to delete the Users record completely. In this case, you also will need to address any record dependencies that the user has in the system before you can delete the record. For example, you need to delete or edit the user's User License Assignment, Application User Entities, Application Users, and Group Members records.

Aptify recommends that you disable users rather than delete them. When you disable a user, the account is no longer active, but the historical information related to that account remains valid within the system. When deleting a user, an organization also needs to delete all records that are linked to that user (alternatively, an organization could relink these record to another user, such as a test user account). In either case, the record history associated with the user may not longer be valid or easy to identify.

 

Follow these steps to delete a user account:

  1. Log into Aptify using a user account that has system administrator privileges.
  2. Expand the Users Administration application in the Navigation Bar, if necessary.
  3. Open or create a view of the Users service.
  4. Open the User Administration wizard for the user you want to delete and remove the user from all of his or her Groups (as described below).

    The Aptify User Administration wizard is not supported in the Aptify web interface.

     

    1. Double-click the Users record you want to delete to open the User Administration wizard and proceed to Step 8 of the wizard.
    2. Remove the user from all of the Aptify Groups (by removing the check marks in the include column). See the figure below for an example.
      Remove User from Groups

    3. Clear the Primary Group link box.
    4. Click Next to continue.
    5. Complete the wizard and click Finish to save your changes to the user's group assignments.

  5. In the Users view, select the user you want to delete and press the Delete key.
  6. Click Yes to confirm the delete operation.
    • If the user has never logged in to Aptify, the system deletes the record. Proceed to step 11.
    • If the user has previously used the system, the Record Dependency message appears. Proceed to step 7.
  7. If the Record Dependency message appears, click OK to view the dependencies. 
    Record Dependencies Dialog 
  8. Write down the names of the entities that have records linked to this user.
    • Typical entities that have records linked to users include:
      • Application User Entities
      • Application Users
      • Dashboard Area User Values (see note below)
      • Dashboard Part User Values (see note below)
      • Dashboards
      • Form Templates
      • User License Assignment
      • User Values

        The Dashboard Area User Values and Dashboard Part User Values services are not associated with an Application by default. You need to add these services to one or more applications to delete the linked records. See Adding Services to Aptify Applications for details.

  9. Delete the records that are linked to the user. Alternatively, you can relink a record to a different user if you do not want to delete it.
    • To easily locate the relevant records in a service, create a targeted view of each service that contains dependent records using the User record's UserID as a filter.
    • If the record you want to delete has its own dependencies (for example, a Dashboard may have multiple Dashboard Areas linked to it), note that you need to delete those dependencies before you can delete the record.
  10. Return to the Users view and delete the Users record.
    • If you deleted or relinked all of the user's dependent records, the system should now successfully delete the user.
  11. If you want to delete the user's SQL Server Login, connect to the SQL server using Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio and delete the user's login.
    • Refer to Microsoft's on-line Help for information on how to use SQL Server Management Studio. The following steps summarize the procedure for deleting a SQL server login:
      1. Connect to the SQL server via Management Studio using an account that has system administrator privileges (such as sa).
      2. In the tree, expand the heading for your SQL server and select the Security > Logins menu item.
      3. Select the user login that you want to delete and press the Delete key.
      4. Click OK to delete the login.

 

The system removes all database privileges to the Aptify databases when deleting a user. However, the system does not delete the user's SQL Server Login account since other systems may also be using this account. Therefore, if you want to delete the user's SQL Server Login, you need to use SQL Server Management Studio to delete it.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.